Green Going On?


Can we believe it? The Green Revolution is back again in Iran?

Facebook and Twitter and all these instruments of message-spreading, the whole internet is full of “25 Bahman” and “13 Februar” . The song which had been sorrounded with mystery and fascinating magic and which was sung by countless Iranians in Europe and locally in Iran, Yare Dabestani-e-man (which I finally know means “My schoolmate” and has turned into a national anthem for freedom) is back again on screen and in my ears.

Welcome back, Iran’s Green Revolution, and we will pay thanks to Tunisia and Egypt  if this time the Sea of Green which started in 2009 and was crushed down so bloodily, will spread again over their country and its waves will finally drown the bastions of inhumanity there. Welcome back, “my schoolmates” whose songs were ringing in my ears after school had been over in the afternoon and I was heading towards the central square to join some protest rally organized in our town.

What do these guys, the students and the believers in freedom, have to counter the attacks of their cruel leaders they do not want? It’s their minds, their technology, their youth, I assume. It’s their sweet humanity they show and spite into the faces of the fanatics who beat them up and detain them about a hundred at each rally. And it’s the time. Every revolution has its preparation time and its tunring point. Time, patience and determination which they hopefully are equipped with will do its best. Hey, it’s 2011 and they still care for their country!

Courage must have its reward. I hope not I won’t need to forget the first and only Persian words I got to know back in summer 2009 – “ittihad” and “azadeh”.

And know what – I’m Jewish, Israeli and I’m behind you. This should not be a surprise for anyone.

Isralike

SirrK: A most Unique feature of Our Iran Revolution is Courage-Dignity+Class of Our Relentless Revolutionaries #iranelection #sog #neda @SirrK RT

(twitter.com)

 

Leave a comment